On: My Future Child

how to teach your children

Absolutely definitely 100% not mine. I am a word thief.

“I spend many hours thinking of you,
my future child.
I sit and ponder the ways in which I will teach you,
and the words I will use to inspire you.
I spend many days thinking of you,
my future child,
and I wonder just what
the legacy I give to you
will be.

I would tell you to be brave.
I would tell you that courage does not always roar.
That sometimes, heroism is silent.
The world will be cold and distant,
and it will be up to you to make the decision
to move forward anyway.

I would tell you to be kind.
I would tell you that cruelty is easy,
and a habit easy to pick up.
Give to strangers, when you can,
hold doors open.
And when you see injustice,
whether through words or actions,
whether in a crowd or in a lonely alley,
showing your humanity
will be the most important thing you ever do.

I would tell you to be patient.
I would tell you that the world is on our time,
and the world is on its own time.
Everything comes to us when we want it,
until one day,
it doesn’t.
And that one thing,
that one tiny thing that takes awhile to come,
will be worth it.

I would tell you to keep your eyes open.
I would tell you that it is all too easy to lose sight of the beautiful little things
that are almost invisible.
I would tell you to keep your head up
when everyone around you tries to bring it down.
I would tell you to keep your heart warm,
because many will break it,
but one
will hold it dearly.

I would tell you,
my future child,
that there is time to do everything you will dream of.
Do not feel the pressure of society
when making your decisions.
And do not,
under any circumstances,
let bullies make them for you.

I would tell you to visit the ocean often.
To feel the sand between your toes,
and to taste the salty air.
I would tell you to walk amongst the trees,
and listen to the silence.
I would tell you to cuddle up with books every now and then,
and to always believe in the magic that they hold.

I would tell you to go on adventures.
Whether in the bathtub,
or on a plane,
never begin to think that you have seen all that there is to see.

I would tell you that,
though you do not exist yet,
my heart is filled with love for you.
And that love,
my darling,
is something that you will never have to question.”

Please give her your thoughts and see the rest of her mindblowing blog.

http://thoughtsofalunatic.com/2013/12/08/what-i-would-tell-you/

One thought on “On: My Future Child

Leave a comment